Wiki, installation instructions and library dependencies.

For those having trouble installing/running the game or to report a bug

Moderator: Staff

Wiki, installation instructions and library dependencies.

Postby shirish » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:20 pm

Hi all,
Newbie here. While I'm downloading the unstable snapshot of allacrost , I am a tad disappointed with the installation instructions given in the wiki both at :- ... Repository

as well as ... pendencies

The problem is for a casual user/newbie he might not know what dependencies are needed. For instance you have given libsdl as one of your requirements, but libsdl does not have a metapackage atleast in/on debian unstable. Its broken into many compartments. The same goes for boost and some of the other stuff.

Just to take that e.g. forward if I just look at libsdl then there are/maybe 5 packages that would be needed :-

Code: Select all

libsdl-gfx1.2-4 libsdl-image1.2 libsdl-mixer1.2 libsdl-sound1.2 libsdl-ttf2.0-0 and  libsdl1.2debian

Just using code to highlight. Anyways, the point is even then I'm not sure whether I would need the -dev packages of these packages for compilation or not.

For opengl it would again be three packages :-

libgl1-mesa-glx , libglu1-mesa and perhaps python-opengl

It would have been nice if the library dependencies page could also have something like this (atleast for deb-based distributions)

sudo apt-get install libsdl-gfx1.2.4 libsdl-image1.2 libsdl-mixer1.2 libsdl-sound1.2 libsdl-ttf2.0-0 and  libsdl1.2debian

or whatever people would find in the stable releases of the OS. It would make things much easier than trying out things and looking at what stopped autoconf to compile the project/game.

Just my 2 paise.

Nice to see some activity though, have been keeping on you guys.
Intel i5-7400, Asus Z270-P, 8 GB DDR4 2400 RAM, D-Link 502-T router, 64-bit Debian Buster, MATE 1.18 ,

Re: Wiki, installation instructions and library dependencies

Postby Roots » Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:48 pm