Hello, we apologize but forum registrations are non-functional at this time. This issue should be fixed around mid-December. Until then, please stop by our Discord channel if you'd like to get in touch with the team. Thanks!

Fatal signal: Bus Error (SDL Parachute Deployed)

For those having trouble installing/running the game or to report a bug

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
Anyar

Fatal signal: Bus Error (SDL Parachute Deployed)

Post by Anyar » Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:53 am

I recently installed the cvs, and had no problems with compiling, but when I try to run the program, a window comes up, closes after a few seconds, and I get  a

Code: Select all

Fatal signal: Bus Error (SDL Parachute Deployed)

error in my terminal. I am running OS X 10.4.2 on an ibook G4.
User avatar
Roots
Dictator
Posts: 8669
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:07 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Post by Roots » Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:56 am

Ah, well the reason for that is that you only have the code, and not all the media and other data files that we've been using. All of the stuff we are using at the moment are test maps/images/music, so we didn't want to commit all that junk to the CVS only to trash it later you know?


If you're really interested in getting all the files required, I would be happy to send you the necessary data. Especially because we've never tested to see if Allacrost works on OS X before. :) Send me a PM or e-mail.
Image
Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:26 am

Edit by Roots

I'm a stupid russian bot who wants to sell you drugs!
User avatar
prophile
Senior Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Chaldon, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by prophile » Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:39 am

Ban time. :angry:
User avatar
visage
Former Staff
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:19 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by visage » Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:43 am

its also because the devIL library crashes with the png information.  You have to convert all the pngs to jpgs for now, and load them as jpgs...which means replacing every ".png" with a ".jpg" in the source code.  A real hassle.

I am supposed to be figuring it out, but nobody seems to know why it is happening.  (I am running 10.4.4 powerbook g4)
User avatar
Roots
Dictator
Posts: 8669
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:07 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Post by Roots » Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:31 am

I hope that's just an issue with your machine and not with OS X itself. :uhoh: But yeah, we need some other people with OS X to try out Allacrost to see if they suffer from the same problem. :|
Image
User avatar
prophile
Senior Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Chaldon, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by prophile » Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:27 pm

Drop me the files you need and I'll take a look :)
User avatar
Roots
Dictator
Posts: 8669
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:07 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Post by Roots » Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:05 pm

prophile wrote:Drop me the files you need and I'll take a look :)


I'll PM you the info later tonight or tomorrow if I remember. Or if one of the other developers wants to do it for me, that would be great too because I have another busy busy week ahead. :uhoh:
Image
User avatar
prophile
Senior Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Chaldon, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by prophile » Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:08 pm

Righto.
User avatar
gorzuate
Developer
Posts: 2575
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Contact:

Post by gorzuate » Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:28 pm

I'll do it. You should get a PM from me shortly.
Image
User avatar
prophile
Senior Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Chaldon, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by prophile » Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:16 pm

Received.

Any possibility of visage's xcode project file?
User avatar
Roots
Dictator
Posts: 8669
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:07 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Post by Roots » Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:54 am

I would PM him and ask. We were talking about adding his X-Code project file to the repository, but haven't done so yet.
Image
Post Reply