Error when i want play the Allacrost

For those having trouble installing/running the game or to report a bug

Moderator: Staff

hilsim
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:44 am

Error when i want play the Allacrost

Postby hilsim » Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:51 am

Hi, when i want play the Allacrost, game give me this info.

bash-3.1$ allacrost
ERROR: unable to initialize VideoManager


I have KateOS 3.2
User avatar
gorzuate
Developer
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 3:03 am
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gorzuate » Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:57 am

I think there is a flag you can use to get allacrost to spit out information about your system. Try "allacrost -h" to see what the flags are (and post the results here).

Did you give configure any special options? I assume that configure made it all the way through, i.e. you have all the dependencies installed.
Image
hilsim
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:44 am

Postby hilsim » Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:09 am

bash-3.1$ allacrost -d video
VIDEO: GameVideo constructor invoked
VIDEO: Initializing SDL subsystem
VIDEO: setting video mode
VIDEO: Loading default font
VIDEO ERROR: TTF_OpenFont() failed for filename:
img/fonts/tarnhalo.ttf
VIDEO ERROR: Could not load tarnhalo.ttf file!
ERROR: unable to initialize VideoManager
VIDEO: GameVideo destructor invoked


I don't use any special options and i think i have all dependencies. But maybe game not want work with XFCE ?
User avatar
gorzuate
Developer
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 3:03 am
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gorzuate » Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:01 pm

No I don't think XFCE is the problem. It should work with that.

Are you building from the current version in the repository or from the demo-0.1.0 tarball? If you did a "make install", try cd-ing into the directory containing all of the data files and running from there (yeah, that shouldn't be necessary but perhaps we don't have it setup quite correctly). The TTF_OpenFont error means it can't find the font file, so that could be the problem.
Image
hilsim
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:44 am

Postby hilsim » Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:20 pm

Ok i start game from source directory and work good. Thanks to help me.

Return to “Technical Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest