My user experience / feedback

Let our staff know what you think about the game and suggest improvements

Moderator: Staff

Winter Knight

My user experience / feedback

Postby Winter Knight » Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:51 pm

I have been a developer for KQ RPG for several months. It uses allegro and lua. It had a few problems that I have been gradually working the kinks from. By original design, the game content is intertwined into the code. It is programmed in C, and not particularly well. Global variables in every file, and most with obscure names (although we have been working on doucmenting what the variables are for). Many of the files are in a weird allegro-specific format, called a PACKFILE.

For the past couple of weeks, I have been working on a RPG game engine. I have been writing in C++. I have been using SDL. I was planning to add a lua scripting engine. I was planning to keep the content 100% separated from the code, and use standard formats. And I was going to license everything under the GPL. I think I will just join allacrost instead. You guys thought of everything I did, but before I did.

I played through the demo. I used the debian binary, which says that it is the latest release (svn 858). I have a few things to point out. Most of them you probably already knew.

* Character too slow. Someone suggested running in town, and short bursts in "dangerous" zones. I recommend that, and having a variable game speed adjustment as well. And have a separate game speed adjustment for battles.

* It would be nice to have a game play tutorial. Maybe that will be one of the first things I work on.

* I couldn't find any pages in the wiki regarding writing maps. Artwork and music, but nothing on scripting and such. I looked at the files (maps are written in lua?), and it looks simple enough. Still, if I join, I will probably start with a maps/scripts tutorial. See the tutorial I wrote for the equivalent in KQ: ... urFirstMap